Our People


Our Patron

Uncle Jack Charles

We are so incredibly saddened to hear of Uncle Jack Charles’ passing.

As our treasured Patron, we are so touched to have been graced by his charms, generosity and good humour. Through our connection with him, we were able to share the values of the association which are aligned with his own- a spirit of tenacity and subversion along with a dedication to storytelling and the arts. We have always known him to be thoroughly loved and respected by the whole industry, and though he will be sorely missed, his legacy will remain in our hearts forever.


Green Room Award members have voted in Sapidah Kian and Eugyeene Teh as the association’s co-presidents.

At this transformative and inauspicious time, the association plans to recalibrate. This will include a focus on developing inclusive practices that more strongly reflect its members, the sector and wider community.

Introducing themselves and their priorities, the co-presidents have written a letter to association members and industry.

“Growing a vision for the awards with our members in this ever-evolving landscape is our priority,” said the new co-presidents.

“We all need to adjust and reconsider practice as well as purpose while we navigate the pandemic and the emergence from restrictions that have impacted our sector so heavily.”

Sapidah and Eugyeene paid tribute to the incredible accomplishments of former president Hilary Glow and the hard work of our panels and membership base.

Sapidah Kian

Eugyeene Teh

Executive Committee

Dean Drieberg

Emily Harvey

Life Members

1993 Blair Edgar OAM
(founding member)
1993 Steven Tandy
(founding member)
1994 Irene Mitchell (1905 - 1995)
1994 Lady Pamela Travers (1899 - 1996)
1995 Lady ‘Viola’ Tait AM (1911 - 2002)
1996 Pamela Ruskin (1920 - 2010)
1996 Anne Fraser
2000 Frank van Straten OAM
2001 Paul Hammond FRAD OAM (1922 - 2010)
2008 Geoffrey Milne (1945 - 2013)
2011 Mark Williams
2013 Martin Croft
2013 Will Conyers
2016 Chris Thompson
2017 Chris Boyd

Past Presidents

1983-1985 Steven Tandy
1985-1990 Prof. John Rickard
1990-1994 Hugo Leschen
1994-1999 Beverly Dunn
2000-2002 Rob Meldrum
2002-2005 Will Conyers
2005-2010 Dr Mark Williams
2010-2011 Richard Watts
2011-2012 Tim Stitz
2012-2015 Chris Thompson
2016-2020 Prof. Hilary Glow